Gala Cycling Club Constitution and Rules

1. The name of the Club shall be ‘Gala Cycling Club’.

2. Membership of the Club shall be open to all persons interested in cycling.

3. The objects of the Club shall be: (a) to promote and encourage all disciplines of cycling; (b) to protect and support the interests of cyclists; (c) to affiliate to kindred bodies as the Members in general meeting shall decide.

4. Annual Subscription shall be as follows:

Members 18 years and over - £15

Member over 65 - £10

Members under 18 years - £5.

Wife or husband of member - £1.

Subscriptions shall become due from the date of the AGM, with leeway of one club confined Time trial for late payment. Refusal to race at second Club Time trial may be taken until membership is paid. BCF licence will be withheld until payment is received.

5. In recognition of outstanding services by an individual to the Club or to the sport of cycling generally, the Members in general meeting may elect such individual an honorary life member; and the individual so elected shall have for life all rights and privileges of an ordinary Member, but shall not be required to pay any subscription.

6. The Annual General Meeting shall be held in the month of October in each year.

7. At the Annual General Meeting the following honorary officials shall be elected: President and Vice Presidents . The following Club officers shall be elected General Secretary, Treasurer, Membership Secretary, Event Secretary, Club Development Officer. Press Officer, Club Coach, Welfare Officer and MTB Secretary. The officials so elected shall hold office until the next Annual General Meeting when they shall retire, but will be eligible for re-election.

8. The Club shall be governed by a General Committee consisting of the honorary and elected officials, event organisers and an additional six elected members plus a young rider representative (under 18’s). Five members of the General Committee shall form a quorum, however it must contain three elected or honorary officials for any financial decisions to be authorised. The Chairperson shall have a casting as well as a deliberative vote. The chair will be taken by the General Secretary or Treasurer. In their absence any elected official shall act as Chairperson. The General Committee will have budgetary control during that year with a limit of £1000 on any single expenditure. For expenditure greater than £1000 AGM or EGM approval will be required.

9. The General Committee shall have the power to appoint Sub-Committees for special purposes and to co-opt the services of other Members of the Club as the Committee may determine.

10. An Auditor shall be appointed at the Annual General Meeting. The accounts duly audited shall be presented to the Members of the Club as the Committee may determine.

11. Three Trustees shall be appointed whose duty it shall be, in the event of the Club being dissolved or falling into abeyance, to hold in trust all funds and property belonging to the Club until such time as the Club, or its successor becomes active.

12. A Special General Meeting: (a) may be called at any time by the General Secretary in consultation with the President; (b) shall be called by the General Secretary upon receiving a written request signed by no fewer than six Members.

13. The General Committee shall have the power to suspend or expel any Member who, in their opinion is not conforming to the general rules of the Club or who is conducting themselves in such a manner as to bring discredit upon the Club.

14. These rules shall not be altered except at a General Meeting of the Club. Notice of a motion proposing any alteration shall be given to the General Secretary at least one month before the date of the Meeting. No alteration shall be declared carried unless two-thirds of those voting are in favour of the change.

15. The Events committee will be organised by the Events Secretary, Treasurer, Event Organisers and interested members. They will take on the role of coordinating all club events and will feedback to the General Committee. They will have budgetary control of all events being organised during that year.

(as amended November 2004, October 2005, December 2005,November 2010, October 2012)