Selkirk Hill MTT 13-05-2015

 Members of the cycling club have had a successful week first of all, with Rob Martin competing in the Scottish 10 mile TT Open  finishing in 9th place overall in 21 min 00 sec. Nathan Beard took part in The Fred Whitton Challenge in the lake district, covering 110 miles which included over 10,000ft of ascent taking in Hardknot Pass on the way. This challenging sportive is considered to be one of the hardest UK`s sportives on the calendar and seen Nathan finishing in 6th place overall with an average speed of 18mph an incredible achievement given that the descents are considered to be dangerous to be taken at speed. This however did not tire the legs of Rob and Nathan who rode away from the chasing field during Wednesday nights Selkirk Golfie. Always a popular 20.5 mile Hilly TT race it was won by Rob Martin who again set a new Club Course Record and a ersonnel Best time of 47 min 04 sec, second Nathan Beard 49 min 45 sec PB with Alistair Meikle third with another nights Personnel Best time of 51 min08 sec. Well done guys for it was a cold damp night out on the course.
The Border Trophy is less than a month away with Gala 2014 Border Trophy Champions. A change of dates/venues has been announced the dates are now.  Gala leg Wed 10th June...Kelso leg Mon 15th June...Berwick leg Thur 18th June...Hawick leg Tues 23rd June. Entry Fees are £5 for Seniors £2 for Juniors for each round with a £10 Day License fee for each leg if not a member of British Cycling.
Cyclist`s from all over the borders were saddened last week with the news that the popular cycling stop at the Gordon Arms Hotel in the Yarrow Valley had been on fire causing considerable damage to the hotel. The fire was spotted by staff in the roof space which quickly spread before fire crews from Moffat, Selkirk, Gala and a specialist height appliance from Edinburgh were on the scene. It has been reported that no one was injured during the blaze. The hotel has been the venue for the clubs Burns Suppers for many a year always providing top entertainment.


20 Mile MTT  
1 Rob Martin 00:47:04
2 Nathen Beard 00:49:45
3 Alistair Meikle 00:51:8
4 Ian Pearson 00:52:51
5 George Ganicott 00:56:07
6 Neil Shepherd 00:56:21
7 Calcium Crawford 00:57:16
8 Jeremy Weston 00:57:39
9 Ross Ketteridge 00:57:59
10 Allan Dawson 00:59:34
11 Scot Purves 01:00:05
12 Bill Lowes 01:03:46
13 David Johnston 01:07:35
14 Murray Shiels 01:14:59
15 Gareth Murray DNF